The Yimchunger Tribal Council – YTC, is the Apex body of the Yimchunger Tribe. It has its HQs at Shamatore Town. The YTC was formed and born on the 18 th January 1948 in a meeting convened at Chessore (Kiusoru village) in which most representatives from the Yimkhiungru speaking dialects attended in person and appended their signature on the YTC meeting Resolution minutes. The attendance record sheet is itself self explanatory as to how, when and why the YTC was formed. Those who attended were responsible and venerated individuals from their respective village and the tribe. The members of the YTC are selected on the basis of merit, experience, quality and high integrity. The duties and task of the YTC is varied, numerous and quite demanding. It is an NGO based organization whose primary duties are to protect, safeguard, promote and take forward the Yimkhiungru Community in all aspects. Major crisis and problems within and without are being dispensed with by the YTC day in and day out. Although the members are working purely on voluntary basis, without salary or remuneration, yet the members sacrifice their every inch of talent, wisdom and strength for the welfare of the community at large. They perform due yeoman service, selflessly dedicated and worthy of honour and praise by the Yimkhiungru people. Today, the YTC have come up age where the community can see retired bureaucrats, educated and highly experienced individuals leading the organization to meet the challenges being faced by the tribe.




        On 18 th January 1948, a meeting of all the village heads and elders having and sharing a common origin, culture and traditional practices was convened at Kiusoru village (now Chessore) under the Chairmanship of  P. Hopung Yimchunger of Aipongru village. It was in this auspicious meeting that the YTC – Yimchunger Tribal Council was formed and constituted. In the meeting held, all people of the Yimchunger villages having the same origin and ancestry spreading over a vast stretch of land came together, to live in harmony, peace and brotherhood under the tribe named Yimkhiungru by a resolution adopted that day. Accordingly, a common language was felt necessary as the tribe comprised of 6 (six) dialects; and therefore, ‘Langa’ dialect was unanimously agreed upon to be used as the ‘Lingua franca’ of the  6 (six) dialect speaking Yimkhiungrus. The resolution also included the establishment of a school at ‘Sangto’ within Kiusoru village jurisdiction. The resolution strongly stressed and focused on ‘any individual or group disrupting the unity of the tribe shall be dealt with severe action that included imposition of fine or any penalty as may be deem fit and proper by the YTC’.

        The meeting strongly advocated and decided that all Yimkhiungru villages is to be commonly known as the Yimkhiungrus for all purposes. The house also agreed upon the use of Yimkhiungru Vernicular Book as text for the beginners in schools. The Vernacular Book was named “Lodam Kaku” meaning – book of levelling uneven ground. Shri late P. Thsamphu of Hukeru village was entrusted to be the author and the book was printed at Atoizu by Rev. Delano (an American missionary stationed there).

        Accordingly in Sequel to the YTC resolution, the 6 (six) dialect speaking Yimkhiungrus namely, Langa, Tukhi, Mukhok, Chi, Phunong and Longfu lived harmoniously under the banner of Yimkhiungru tribe. Since they belonged to the same ancestry and origin as every delegate agreed upon and endorsed; they gave their whole hearted consent to be called as the Yimkhiungrus in their own volition and decision – which is till this day.



(Should there be any name of signatory of delegates that have been inadvertently not included may be brought to the notice of the admin of this website or to the YTC for inclusion and rectification)


01 P. Hopung President Aipongru Sd/-
02 R. Phanung GB Aipongru Sd/-
03 Murekiu GB Aipongru Sd/-
04 Pongji GB Hukeru Sd/-
05 Mongsoyim GB Hukeru Sd/-
06 Shophu GB Kiusoru Sd/-
07 Kumcho GB Kiusoru Sd/-
08 Shojimba GB Kiusoru Sd/-
09 Bumba GB Longtokru Sd/-
10 Chipong GB Longtokru Sd/-
11 Ahoshe GB Thsotokuru Sd/-
12 Tochimong GB Thsotokuru Sd/-
13 Throngso GB Y. Awunru Sd/-
14 Thsanthrong GB Y. Awunru Sd/-
15 Rhakkiumong Hd GB Shipongru Sd/-
16 Mukhe 2 nd GB Shipongru Sd/-
17 Kumcho   Kiutsukiuru Sd/-
18 Ahoshe GB Kiutsukiuru Sd/-
19 Yanhokiu GB Khumongsheru Sd/-
20 Wongto GB khumongsheru Sd/-
21 Yankiumong GB Kutowuhru Sd/-
22 Yankiumong GB Kutowuhru Sd/-
23 Jimkiu GB Yahkoru Sd/-
24 Kiukhang GB Yahkoru Sd/-
25 Lakiumong GB Sangphuru Sd/-
26 Thrimho GB Sangphuru Sd/-
27 Chikum GB Sangphuru Sd/-
28 Thsankiu   Tsasheru Sd/-
29 Rongkiu GB Tsasheru Sd/-
30 Thrunso GB Muleangkiuru Sd/-
31 Rongkiu GB Muleangkiuru Sd/-
32 Thsangsomong GB Leangkongru Sd/-
33 Khoshi GB Leangkongru Sd/-
34 Junglikhum GB Sangmutongru Sd/-
35 Ahukiu GB Sangmutongru Sd/-
36 Kumjimong GB Lasokiuru Sd/-
37 Kheanjimong GB Wongphungru Sd/-
38 Torupkiu GB Wongphungru Sd/-
39 Nukhumong GB Huhdangru Sd/-
40 Asokhiung GB Huhdangru Sd/-
41 Yansomong GB Pongrongru Sd/-
42 Yanthrongba GB Pongrongru Sd/-
43 Thsankiu GB Rururu Sd/-
44 Kiuthrum GB Rururu Sd/-
45 Kiuthrong GB Sikiur A Sd/-
46 Izukhe GB Sikiur B Sd/-
47 Lakiumong GB Anuhdangru Sd/-
48 Boikiu GB Anuhdangru Sd/-
49 Tomukam GB Kewungru Sd/-
50 Shihtoba GB Mutongru Sd/-
51 Thronghokiu GB Sangkhumtiru Sd/-
52 Mukam GB Zhimkiuru Sd/-
53 Kheanjimong GB Longtsongru Sd/-
54 Kiutsumong GB Bokphuru Sd/-
55 Ahoshe GB Phuru Sd/-
56 Mahching GB Zawongru Sd/-
57 Thsangmuli GB Khuyakwungru Sd/-
58 Sangtokiu GB Khuyakwungru Sd/-
59 Kiutongba GB Thoktsuhru Sd/-
60 Shita GB Mutongru Sd/-
61 Kiutsukiu GB Phunungru Sd/-
62 Rithrungkiu GB Phunugnru Sd/-


      Sd/-                                                                                                    Sd/-

P.Hopong                                                                          B. Thsamphu

Chairman                                                                                      Secretary



  • The House have resolved to cease all forms of hostilities and confrontations among the members of the Yimchunger Community. In the event of killing among the members of the Yimchunger Community or breaching the resolution in any manner, the Yimchunger Truk Arih Ako (YTC) shall penalize the defaulting village/s or person/s.
  • The House have unanimously resolved to use Langa dialect as Lingua Franca (common language) for all the six dialects of the Yimchunger Community from Herupwung to Mount Saramati.
  • Henceforth all the Yimchunger villages shall affiliate themselves in the Yimchunger organizations, that is the YTC, YBBA, YSC etc.
  • In the event of disturbances from the neighbouring community/ties; tribe/s against the Yimchunger individual/s or village/s; the matter shall be dealt directly by the apex tribal organization YTC.


     Sd/-                                                                                                    Sd/-

P.Hopong                                                                         B. Thsamphu

Chairman                                                                                    Secretary


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.